Year Landmark
1914 The foundation stone was laid on 24 February, 1914 by Lord Carmichael, the then Governor of Bengal.
1925 The method of synthesizing urea Stibamine was worked out here in the Department of Chemistry according to the Principal laid down by Dr. U. N. Brahmachari
1950 Method of detection of Argemone oil in adulterated mustered oil was first done in the Department of Chemistry
1957 First Case of Histoplasmosis in India was detected in the Department of Mycology
1960 First report of Lathyrism among Bengalis was done by Dr. T. K. Saha, Dr. S. B. Chatterjee and Dr. R. N. Choudhury
1961 First case of Hb H disease was reported in India by Dr. J. B. Chatterjee
1970 First case of Diarrhoea caused by Vibro parahaemolyticus was detected in Kolkata by Prof. B. D. Chatterjee et al in the department of Bacteriology
1982 First case of Arsenic induced skin lesion was detected by Dr. K. C. Saha
1984 Presence of arsenic in ground water in rural Bengal was first detected by the Department of Chemistry
1988 Detection of TCP as contaminant in edible oil was first detected in the Department of Chemistry
1997-98 Nodal centre for arsenic estimation was set up here - recognized by WHO
2003-04 Peripheral laboratories in different district of West Bengal were set up under this nodal centre
2011 A Centre of Excellence under Dr. Subhasish Kamal Guha was set up for carrying out reserach on HIV/HVF Co-infection and Anti Viral Therapy
2012 A specialist department Regenerative Medicine and Translational Science under leadership of Dr. Niranjan Bhattacharya was set up for conducting fellowship course on RMTS and Surgical treatment of Regenerative cases
2013 STM celebrates 100 years through various programs
2014 Carmichael Hospital for tropical diseases revamped for indoor and outdoor patients
2014 Critical Care unit was established with nine beds
2015 First Cord Blood Bank in the government sector was inaugurated by Smt. Mamata Bandyopahyay, CM, Govt. of WB
2015 Independent building for Centre of Excellence (COE) - HIV Care was inaugurated
2021 The Department of Infectious Diseases and Advanced Microbiology was established
2022 The Zoonosis Lab was opened in the institute
2023 The New Generation Sequencing Lab was created